Jean Béliveau

Biography of Jean Arthur Béliveau

Jean Béliveau was born in Trois-Rivières on August 31, 1931, to Arthur and Laurette Béliveau. He was the oldest of eight children. All his life, ‘le Grand Jean’ will remember the teachings of his father, a man who possessed extraordinary strength of character.

His family having moved to Victoriaville in the heart of the Bois-Francs region, Béliveau learned the basics of hockey, like thousands of Quebecers at that time, on an outdoor skating rink with the neighbourhood kids. They all dreamed of playing like Maurice Richard and to wear the uniform of the Canadiens. His natural abilities immediately stood out, and being physically imposing gave him an advantage over his friends.

Young Béliveau began his junior career with the Tigers of Victoriaville of Quebec’s Junior Hockey League. Following his father’s decision, he then joined the Quebec Citadelles where he became a big star.

At the end of his junior career, “Gros Bill” had to make a choice for his future career: Montreal or Quebec? The Canadiens or the As? “Grand Jean” was favourably disposed for Quebec. Béliveau therefore chose the Junior League and the As, with whom he had two phenomenal seasons. He was the king of Quebec.

On June 27, 1953, Jean Béliveau married Élise Couture. The couple had a daughter, Hélène. During their honeymoon, the bridegroom told Élise that it was now time to go to Montreal.

On October 3, at the age of 22, Béliveau put his signature at the bottom of a five-year contract with the Montreal Canadiens, a contract valued at $105,000. It had never been seen before in hockey!

“Gros Bill” would sample the joys of ultimate victory at his third season. He was an important part of this fabulous team that won five consecutive Stanley Cups and participated in seven consecutive finals.

In 1956, Béliveau obtained the status of star player. Champion scorer of the circuit with 88 points, 47 goals, he added to his Art-Ross Memorial Trophy, the Hart Memorial Trophy awarded to the most outstanding player of the National League. He became an icon all over French Canada.

The early 1960s, after the departure of Maurice Richard, was a difficult time for Béliveau. However, the second part of the decade was absolutely wonderful. The team succeeded in winning four Stanley cup in five years.

On February 11, 1971, against the Minnesota North Stars, he scored a hat trick that enabled him to reach 500 goals. Only Maurice Richard had already achieved this feat. He crowned his career with a tenth Stanley Cup.

Béliveau retired after having scored 507 goals in 1125 regular-season games and had 1219 points, the second all-time total in the history of the Canadiens. He won one Art-Ross Memorial Trophy, two Hart Memorial Trophies and one Conn-Smythe.

Member of the Hockey Hall of Fame, his number 4 was retired at the beginning of the 1971 season.

When he retired, Béliveau moved to the second floor of the Forum. He occupied the position of Vice-President of Social Affairs and his main responsibility was to maintain the link between the Canadiens and the fans. He devoted himself for 22 years, until August 31, 1993.

The following year, Prime Minister Jean Chrétien offered Jean Béliveau the position of Governor General of Canada, an offer that he refused for personal reasons.

At the turn of the millennium, after a successful fight against cancer, Jean Béliveau was honoured in many different ways: Honorary doctorates, Order of Canada, National Order of Quebec, as well as a stamp and a coin that bear his effigy. In addition, there are two bronze statues, one in front of the arena that bears his name in Longueuil and one at Place du Centenaire in the vicinity of the Canadiens’ present home.

Over the past several years, through the trials of his state of health, Jean Béliveau will have known during his lifetime how much he was appreciated and admired by all his fellow citizens from sea to sea.

On December 2, 2014, “Grand Jean” passed away leaving in mourning his wife Élise, his daughter Hélène, and his grand-daughters Mylène and Magalie. He was one of the great leaders in the history of the Canadiens and will remain, beyond time, a symbol of honour, loyalty, dedication, and great class for all Quebecers, for all Canadians.

A remarkable career, an exemplary life

1950-1951

First Team All-Star QSHL

1951-1952

Alexander Trophy as champion of semi-professional teams

1952-1953

The President’s Cup as champion of the QSHL series. First NHL All-Star Team

1954-1955

First NHL All-Star Team

1955-1956

First Stanley Cup. Art Ross and Hart Memorial Trophies. First NHL All-Star Team

1956-1957

Stanley Cup (2). First NHL All-Star Team

1957-1958

Stanley Cup (3). Second NHL All-Star Team

1958-1959

Stanley Cup (4). First NHL All-Star Team

1959-1960

Stanley Cup (5). First NHL All-Star Team

1960-1961

Named Captain of the Canadiens. First NHL All-Star Team

1963-1964

Hart Memorial Trophy. Second NHL All-Star Team

1964-1965

Stanley Cup (6). Conn Smythe Trophy

1965-1966

Stanley Cup (7). Second NHL All-Star Team

1967-1968

Stanley Cup (8)

1968-1969

Stanley Cup (9). Second NHL All-Star Team

1969

Officer of the Order of Canada

1970-1971

Stanley Cup (10)

1971

His number 4 was retired. Officer of the Order of Canada

1972

Hall of Fame

1972

Doctorate Honoris Causa – Moncton University

1986

Member of the Académie des Grands Montréalais

1988

Knight of the Ordre national du Québec

1992

Sports Hall of Fame

1993

Personality of the Year (La Presse)

1998

Companion of the Order of Canada

1999

Doctorate Honoris Causa – University of Ottawa

2001

Doctorate Honoris Causa – St-Mary’s University

2006

Officer of the National Order of Quebec

2006

Doctorate Honoris Causa – McGill University

2008

Doctorate Honoris Causa – Laval University

2008

Montreal Jewish Hall of Fame; the first non-Jew to deserve this honour

2009

Doctorate Honoris Causa – Concordia University

2009

Doctorate Honoris Causa – Ryerson University

2010

Grand Officer of the National Order of Quebec

Statistics

Regular Seasons

Statistics

Playoff Games

CHRISTMAS LETTER

FROM A FATHER TO HIS SON

It was in 1966 or 1967, I could not swear to it. My father had offered me my very first brand new hockey stick, a straight blade CCM Custom Pro, treated with "Resilobound", identical to the one of my idol, Jean Béliveau. For the traditional picture, I took the same pose as Béliveau had on the hockey card which I used as a bookmark for my Bob Morane books.

The following year, having grown a couple of inches, I had to resign myself to give up my hockey stick. My big brother Robert handed me down his old Northland, a pretty decent stick, but nothing compared to the CCM that I hung on the wall of my room, making myself believe that Jean Béliveau himself had given it to me after a victory over the Maple Leafs.

I was never able to part with it. Over the past thirty-five years, I carted it around from left to right, from attic to attic, whenever I moved. Every time I held it in my hands, I relived the Christmas when I was eight years old and the games that followed on the Saint Henry Park rink. And I told myself that some day I would give my old CCM to my son.

When I learned that you would never walk, or eat by yourself, or utter little more than a dozen words, I’m not going to lie to you, my whole world collapsed. I had so many dreams for you. I could see us, you and me, side by side, carrying out the work that grandpa started so long ago in our small family business. Better yet, I imagined you at the head of a huge conglomerate with international ramifications, a true business celebrity admired by all, my son the visionary entrepreneur, my son the respected financier, my son… period. Since then, I have spent so many sleepless nights worrying and dreading what the future had in store for you, all the terrible battles you would have to face because of your disability, all these doors that would close on your wish of carving out a place in the sun for yourself. Sure I’m tired. Yet you are my beloved son, my gift from heaven, and I am so proud of you.

I am offering you my old CCM. I know you will never be able to use it, but you are the only one to whom I want to offer this part of myself, of my childhood dreams, of Jean Béliveau and of the Christmas when I was eight years old.

Merry Christmas my little man, my precious child.

Contribute

To the Foundation

You can carry on the legacy of Mr. Béliveau in three different ways.

Jean Béliveau

Biographie de Jean Arthur Béliveau

Jean Béliveau voit le jour à Trois-Rivières le 31 août 1931. Il est le premier de la famille de huit enfants d'Arthur et Laurette Béliveau. Toute sa vie, le Grand Jean se rappellera des enseignements de son père, un homme avec une force de caractère peu commune.

Déménagé à Victoriaville, au cœur de la région des Bois-Francs, Béliveau s'initie aux rudiments du hockey, comme des milliers de Québécois à cette époque, sur une patinoire extérieure avec les jeunes du voisinage. Tous rêvent de jouer comme Maurice Richard et de porter l'uniforme du Canadien. Sauf que ses habiletés naturelles ressortent immédiatement et son physique imposant lui donne une longueur d'avance sur ses compagnons.

Le jeune Béliveau amorce sa carrière junior avec les Tigres de Victoriaville de la Ligue junior A du Québec. Sur décision de son père, il joint par la suite les Citadelles de Québec, où il devient une très grande vedette.

À la fin de son stage junior, le « Gros Bill » doit faire un choix pour la suite de sa carrière : Montréal ou Québec? Le Canadien ou les As? Le Grand Jean a un préjugé favorable pour Québec. Béliveau choisit donc la Ligue senior et les As, avec qui il connaîtra deux saisons phénoménales. Il est le roi de Québec.

Le 27 juin 1953, Jean Béliveau épouse Élise Couture. Le couple aura une fille, Hélène. Durant la lune de miel, le nouveau marié confie à Élise qu'il est temps maintenant de prendre le chemin de Montréal.

Le 3 octobre, à 22 ans, Béliveau appose sa signature au bas d'un contrat de cinq ans avec le Canadien de Montréal, un contrat d’une valeur évaluée à 105 000$. Du jamais vu au hockey!

Le « Gros Bill » va goûter aux joies de la victoire ultime à sa troisième saison. Il est l'un des importants rouages de cette fabuleuse équipe qui remportera cinq coupes Stanley consécutives et participera à sept finales de suite.

En 1956, Béliveau obtient le statut de joueur vedette. Champion pointeur du circuit avec 88 points, dont 47 buts, il ajoute à son trophée Art-Ross le trophée Hart remis au joueur par excellence de la Ligue nationale. Il devient une icône partout au Canada-Français.

Le début des années 1960, après le départ de Maurice Richard, est difficile pour Béliveau. Mais la deuxième portion de la décennie est tout à fait formidable. L'équipe réussit quatre conquêtes de la coupe Stanley en cinq ans.

Le 11 février 1971, contre les North Stars du Minnesota, il complète un tour du chapeau qui lui permet d'atteindre le plateau des 500 buts. Seul Maurice Richard avait déjà réussi l'exploit. Et il couronne sa carrière avec une dixième coupe Stanley.

Béliveau se retire après avoir compté 507 buts en 1125 matchs en saison régulière et amassé 1219 points, le deuxième plus fort total de l'histoire du Canadien. Il a récolté un trophée Art-Ross, deux trophées Hart et un Conn-Smythe.

Membre du Temple de la Renommée du hockey, son numéro 4 est retiré au début de la saison 1971.

À sa retraite, Béliveau se transporte au deuxième étage du Forum. Il occupe le poste de vice-président des Affaires sociales et sa principale responsabilité est de maintenir le lien entre le Canadien et les amateurs. Il s'y consacrera pendant 22 ans, soit jusqu'au 31 août 1993.

L'année suivante, le premier ministre Jean Chrétien offre à Jean Béliveau le poste de gouverneur général du Canada, une offre qu’il refuse pour des raisons personnelles.

Au tournant du millénaire, après avoir remporté une lutte contre le cancer, Jean Béliveau est honoré de plusieurs façons. Doctorats honorifiques, Ordre du Canada et Ordre national du Québec, timbre et pièce de monnaie à son effigie. Sans compter deux statues de bronze, devant l'aréna qui porte son nom à Longueuil et sur la Place du Centenaire aux abords de l'actuelle demeure du Canadien.

Au cours des dernières années, à travers les épreuves liées à son état de santé, Jean Béliveau aura su de son vivant à quel point il a été apprécié et admiré par tous ses concitoyens, d'un océan à l'autre.

Le 2 décembre 2014, le Grand Jean nous a quitté, laissant au passage son épouse Élise, sa fille Hélène, et ses petites filles Mylène et Magalie dans le deuil. Il a été l'un des grands leaders de l'histoire du Canadien et demeurera, au-delà du temps, un symbole d'honneur, de fidélité, de dévouement et de grande classe pour tous les Québécois, pour tous les Canadiens.

Une carrière remarquable, une vie exemplaire

1950-1951

Première équipe d'étoiles de la LHMQ

1951-1952

Trophée Alexander en tant que champion des équipes semi-professionnelles

1952-1953

Coupe du Président en tant que champion des séries de la LHSQ. Première équipe d'étoiles de la LHMQ

1954-1955

Première équipe d'étoiles de la LNH

1955-1956

Première Coupe Stanley. Trophées Art Ross et Hart. Première équipe d'étoiles de la LNH

1956-1957

Coupe Stanley (2). Première équipe d'étoiles de la LNH

1957-1958

Coupe Stanley (3). Deuxième équipe d'étoiles de la LNH

1958-1959

Coupe Stanley (4). Première équipe d'étoiles de la LNH

1959-1960

Coupe Stanley (5). Première équipe d'étoiles de la LNH

1960-1961

Nommé capitaine des Canadiens. Première équipe d'étoiles de la LNH

1963-1964

Trophée Hart. Deuxième équipe d'étoiles de la LNH

1964-1965

Coupe Stanley (6). Trophée Conn Smythe.

1965-1966

Coupe Stanley (7). Deuxième équipe d'étoiles de la LNH

1967-1968

Coupe Stanley (8)

1968-1969

Coupe Stanley (9). Deuxième équipe d'étoiles de la LNH

1969

Officier de l’Ordre du Canada

1970-1971

Coupe Stanley (10)

1971

Son numéro 4 est retiré. Officier de l’Ordre du Canada

1972

Temple de la Renommée

1972

Doctorat honoris causa – Université de Moncton

1986

Membre de l’Académie des Grands Montréalais

1988

Chevalier de l’Ordre national du Québec

1992

Panthéon des sports

1993

Personnalité de l’année (La Presse)

1998

Compagnon de l’Ordre du Canada

1999

Doctorat honoris causa – Université d’Ottawa

2001

Doctorat honoris causa – Université St-Mary’s

2006

Officier de l’Ordre national du Québec

2006

Doctorat honoris causa – Université McGill

2008

Doctorat honoris causa – Université Laval

2008

Montreal Jewish Hall of Fame; premier non-juif à mériter cet honneur

2009

Doctorat honoris causa – Université Concordia

2009

Doctorat honoris causa – Université Ryerson

2010

Grand officier de l’Ordre national du Québec

Statistiques

Saisons régulières

Statistiques

Séries éliminatoires

LETTRE DE NOËL

D’UN PÈRE À SON FILS

C’était en 1966 ou 67, je ne pourrais pas le jurer. Mon père m’avait offert mon tout premier bâton de hockey flambant neuf, un CCM Custom Pro à lame droite, traité au « Resilobound », identique à celui de mon idole, Jean Béliveau. Pour la photo traditionnelle, j'ai adopté la même pose que celle de Béliveau sur la carte de hockey qui me servait de signet pour mes Bob Morane.

J'ai grandi de plusieurs centimètres l'année qui a suivie. Je me suis donc résigné à abandonner mon bâton. Mon grand frère Robert m'a refilé son vieux Northland, un bâton correct mais qui n'avait rien de comparable au CCM que j'ai accroché au mur de ma chambre en me racontant que c'est Jean Béliveau lui-même qui me l'avait offert après une victoire sur les Maple Leafs.

Je n’ai jamais été capable de m'en défaire. Au cours des trente-cinq dernières années, je l'ai trimbalé à droite et à gauche, de déménagement en déménagement, de grenier en grenier. À chaque fois que je le tenais dans mes mains, je revivais le Noël de mes huit ans et les joutes qui ont suivies sur la patinoire du parc St-Henri. Et je me disais qu'un jour c'est à mon propre fils que j'offrirais ce vieux CCM.

Lorsque j'ai appris que jamais que tu ne pourrais marcher, ni manger seul, ni prononcer à peine plus qu'une dizaine de mots, mon monde a basculé, je ne te raconterai pas d'histoires. Depuis, j'ai passé combien de nuits blanches à m'inquiéter et à redouter ce que l'avenir te réserverait, toutes les batailles terribles qui tu aurais à mener à cause de ton handicap, toutes ces portes qui se refermeraient sur ton désir de te tailler une place au soleil. C'est certain que je suis fatigué. Mais tu es mon fils adoré, mon cadeau du Ciel. Je suis tellement fier de toi.

Je t'offre mon vieux CCM. Je sais que tu ne pourras jamais t'en servir mais c'est seulement à toi que je veux offrir cette partie de moi-même, de mes rêves d'enfant, de Jean Béliveau et du Noël de mes huit ans.

Joyeux Noël, mon petit homme, mon chéri.

Contribuer

À la fondation

Vous pouvez faire un changement de 3 façons différentes.